Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

M'Bikata named CCAA All-Canadian

M'Bikata named CCAA All-Canadian

At the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association’s (CCAA) Awards Banquet on Wednesday night in Edmonton, Capilano University Blues forward Carmelle M’Bikata was named a CCAA All-Canadian for the first time in her career. The honour comes on the heels of being named PACWEST Player of the Year and a conference First Team All-Star two weeks ago.

A fourth-year out of W.J. Mouat Secondary in Abbotsford, M'Bikata led the PACWEST in scoring with 15.78 points per game, and her 56.3% field goal percentage was the third-best mark in the CCAA. On the defensive end, she was sixth in the conference in rebounding with an average of 7.33 per game, and led a Blues defence that allowed just 51.1 points per game – the lowest mark in the entire country.

As team captain, M'Bikata led the Blues to a 16-2 regular season record that was best in the conference. At the PACWEST Provincials, M’Bikata helped Cap to a silver medal and was named a Tournament All-Star for the second-straight season.

In the last weekend of the regular season, M’Bikata also became the new all-time leading scorer for Capilano women’s basketball, as she passed former teammate Michelle Errico’s total of 881 and finished with 916 – a per game average of 11.31 over her four years.

A business student at Cap, M’Bikata was a Second Team All-Star last season, and was named to the Provincial Tournament All-Star Team in 2016 – helping the Blues to a silver medal. She is the first Blues women’s basketball to be named an All-Canadian since Jenna Ralston in 2012, and eighth all-time.

M’Bikata is the third Capilano player to receive All-Canadian honours this season, following Keith Jackson from men’s soccer and Sarah Hughes from women’s volleyball. 

At the CCAA banquet, Cap women's basketball head coach Ramin Sadaghiani was also honoured for being named PACWEST Coach of the Year and a finalist for CCAA Coach of the Year. It was the first time he has won the award.